What’s new for 6G?

Sponsored by the NeTS-VO

January 17, 2023

12:30 PM – 2:00 PM Pacific Time, 3:30 PM – 5:00 PM Eastern Time

Main Speakers: Alan Gatherer, Jeffery Andrews, Charlie Jianzhong Zhang, Neelam Chandwani

Please use this link to register here: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeGrVoTOi4B199y9JcnmXGIPp-9FBgwRJfsheaLVdOXESL4mg/viewform?usp=sf_link

About the Speakers
Jeffrey Andrews

Jeffrey Andrews received the B.S. in Engineering with High Distinction from Harvey Mudd College, and the M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University.  He is the Truchard Family Endowed Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin where is Director of 6G@UT.   Dr. Andrews is an IEEE Fellow and ISI Highly Cited Researcher and has been co-recipient of 15 best paper awards, the 2015 Terman Award, the NSF CAREER Award, the 2021 Gordon Lepley Memorial Teaching Award, the 2021 IEEE ComSoc Joe LoCicero Service Award, and the 2019 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu technical field award.

Neelam Chandwani

Neelam is an Intel Fellow and Chief Architect for Radio Access Network for Intel’s Network and Edge Group.  She leads Intel’s 5G Cloud native RAN technology development, product architecture, system design and FlexRAN software stack design. She is also responsible for architecting next generation dynamic RAN, including leading technology development and product architecture, next-generation wireless algorithms and IPs, driving new use cases and technical industry collaborations. She also leads technical engagements with Comms Service Providers and RAN vendors. Neelam holds Bachelors in Electronics & Communication and Master’s in Computer Science and joined Intel in 2001. She has over 30years of experience in Wireless, Communications and Networking Industry.

Alan Gatherer

Alan Gatherer is currently the CTO of Cirrus360 and a Fellow of the IEEE.  He is responsible for R&D and strategy for Cirrus360 modem development platforms. From January 2010 to January 2021 he was with Futurewei technologies where he was a Senior Technical Vice President in charge R&D efforts in the US to develop next generation baseband chips and software for 4G and 5G basestation modems. He led development of new technologies for baseband SoC in the areas of multimode modems as a Service, interconnect and memory fabric, CPU/DSP clusters and virtualization, focusing on 5G deployment. Prior to that he was a TI Fellow and CTO at Texas Instruments where he led the development of high performance, multicore DSP at TI and worked on various telecommunication standards. Alan has authored over 50 journal and conference papers. In addition, he holds over 80 awarded patents and is author of the book “The Application of Programmable DSPs in Mobile Communications.”  Alan holds a bachelor of engineering in microprocessor engineering from Strathclyde University in Scotland.  He also attended Stanford University in California where he received a master’s in electrical engineering in 1989 and his doctorate in electrical engineering in 1993.

Charlie Jianzhong Zhang

Charlie Jianzhong Zhang is SVP and head of the Standards and Mobility Innovation Team at Samsung Research America, where he leads research, prototyping, and standards for 5G/6G and future multimedia networks. He is also currently serving as the Chairman of the Board with FiRa Consortium, which is dedicated to the development of  seamless user experiences using the secured fine ranging and positioning capabilities of interoperable UWB technologies. From 2009 to 2013, he served as the Vice Chairman of the 3GPP RAN1 working group and led development of LTE and LTE-Advanced technologies such as 3D channel modeling, UL-MIMO, CoMP, Carrier Aggregation for TD-LTE. He received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Dr. Zhang is a Fellow of IEEE.