Virtual Panel: Escape velocity- Standard agnostic wireless to go beyond Gs?

Sponsored by the NeTS-VO

April 13, 2022

2:15PM‎ – ‎3:45PM Pacific Time, 5:15PM – 6:45PM Eastern Time

Main Speakers: Mischa Dohler, Muriel Médard, Urbashi Mitra, Ravi Sinha

Please use this link for registration:

About the Speakers
Mischa Dohler

Mischa Dohler is now Chief Architect in Ericsson Inc. in Silicon Valley, US.

He was Professor in Wireless Communications at King’s College London, driving cross-disciplinary research and innovation in technology, sciences and arts. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Arts (RSA), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); and a Distinguished Member of Harvard Square Leaders Excellence. He is a serial entrepreneur with 5 companies; composer & pianist with 5 albums on Spotify/iTunes; and fluent in several languages. He sits on the Spectrum Advisory Board of Ofcom, and acts as policy advisor on issues related to digital, skills and education. He has had ample coverage by national and international press and media. He is featured on Amazon Prime.

He is a frequent keynote, panel and tutorial speaker, and has received numerous awards. He has pioneered several research fields, contributed to numerous wireless broadband, IoT/M2M and cyber security standards, holds a dozen patents, organized and chaired numerous conferences, was the Editor-in-Chief of two journals, has more than 300 highly-cited publications, and authored several books. He is a Top-1% Cited Scientist across all science fields globally.

He was Professor at King’s from 2013-2021, and the Director of the Centre for Telecommunications Research from 2014-2018. He is the Cofounder of the Smart Cities pioneering company Worldsensing, where he was the CTO from 2008-2014. He also worked as a Senior Researcher at Orange/France Telecom from 2005-2008.

Muriel Médard

Muriel Médard (Fellow, IEEE) received three B.S. degrees, a M.S. degree and a Sc.D., all from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). She also holds a doctorate honoris causa degree from the Technical University of Munich. She is currently Cecil H. Green Professor with the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Department, MIT, and she leads the Network Coding and Reliable Communications Group, Research Laboratory for Electronics. She was a Co-Winner of MIT 2004 Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award, received the 2013 EECS Graduate Student Association Mentor Award and served as Faculty in residence for undergraduates at MIT for seven years. SShe is a member of U.S. National Academy of Inventors, U.S. National Academy of Engineering, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She was the President of the IEEE Information Theory Society in 2012, and serves on its Board of Governors. She serves and has served as a technical program committee co-chair for many of the major conferences in information theory, communications, and networking. She has served as an Editor or a Steering Committee Member for many publications of IEEE. She was the Editor-in-Chief (EiC) of IEEE JOURNAL ON SELECTED AREAS IN COMMUNICATIONS an is currently the EiC for IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INFORMATION THEORY. She received the 2009 IEEE Communication Society and Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2009 William R. Bennett Prize in the Field of Communications Networking, the 2019 IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON NETWORK SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING Best Paper Award, the 2002 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Prize Paper Award, the 2018 ACM SIGCOMM Test of Time Paper Award, and several conference paper awards. In 2007, she was named Gilbreth Lecturer by U.S. National Academy of Engineering. She also received the 2016 IEEE Vehicular Technology James Evans Avant Garde Award, the 2017 Aaron Wyner Distinguished Service Award from the IEEE Information Theory Society, the 2017 IEEE Communications Society Edwin Howard Armstrong Achievement Award and the 2022 IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award. She has co-founded Code On and Steinwurf to commercialize network coding.  

Urbashi Mitra

Urbashi Mitra received the B.S. and the M.S. degrees from the University of California at Berkeley and her Ph.D. from Princeton University.  Dr. Mitra is currently the Gordon S. Marshall Professor in Engineering at the University of Southern California with appointments in Electrical & Computer Engineering and Computer Science. She was the inaugural Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE Transactions on Molecular, Biological and Multi-scale Communications. She has been a member of the IEEE Information Theory Society’s Board of Governors (2002-2007, 2012-2017), the IEEE Signal Processing Society’s Technical Committee on Signal Processing for Communications and Networks (2012-2016), the IEEE Signal Processing Society’s Awards Board (2017-2018), and the Chair/Vice-Chair of the IEEE Communication Theory Technical Committee (2017-2020).  Dr. Mitra is a Fellow of the IEEE.  She is the recipient of: the 2021 USC Viterbi School of Engineering Senior Research Award, the 2017 IEEE Women in Communications Engineering Technical Achievement Award, a 2015 UK Royal Academy of Engineering Distinguished Visiting Professorship, a 2015 US Fulbright Scholar Award, a 2015-2016 UK Leverhulme Trust Visiting Professorship, IEEE Communications Society Distinguished Lecturer, 2012 Globecom Signal Processing for Communications Symposium Best Paper Award, 2012 US National Academy of Engineering Lillian Gilbreth Lectureship, the 2009 DCOSS Applications & Systems Best Paper Award, 2001 Okawa Foundation Award, 2000 Ohio State University’s College of Engineering Lumley Award for Research, and a 1996 National Science Foundation CAREER Award.  She has been an Associate Editor for the following IEEE publications: Transactions on Signal Processing, Transactions on Information Theory, Journal of Oceanic Engineering, and Transactions on Communications.  Dr. Mitra has held visiting appointments at: King’s College, London, Imperial College, the Delft University of Technology, Stanford University, Rice University, and the Eurecom Institute. Her research interests are in: wireless communications, structured statistical methods, communication and sensor networks, biological communication systems, detection and estimation and the interface of communication, sensing and control.   

Ravi Sinha

Ravi Sinha is working with world’s fastest growing telco brand Reliance Jio as the Director of 5G and 6G Product and Technology Development.

He is a versatile R&D Executive serving leadership roles in wireless industry with expertise in product development and technology strategy, business analysis, M&A assessments, Strategy planning that enables Jio to achieve its long-term objectives. He brings over two decades of experience and working with some of the world’s largest telecom companies and service providers. In his previous role, he spearheaded efforts to innovate cutting edge projects around small cell solutions and Cloud Native Infra assets for Telco Consumptions.

Ravi Sinha is also serving as the Chairman of Small Cell Forum Emerging Technology initiatives, where he is leading a team of professionals to help the industry in Cutting Edge Small Cell Technology evolution and recommendations as well as Smart and Cognitive EDGE, Automotive and 5G/WiFI6 convergence. He is also an integral part of Academia and Industry partnerships.