Transcending layers : Crossing the divide between lower and upper layers

Sponsored by the NeTS-VO

January 25, 2022

9:30AM‎ – ‎11:00AM Pacific Time, 12:30PM – 2:00PM Eastern Time

Main Speakers: Danijela Cabric (UCLA), Elza Erkip (NYU), Sofie Pollin (KU Leuven), Petar Popovski (Aalborg University)

Please use this link for registration:

About the Speakers
Danijela Cabric

Danijela Cabric is a Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of California, Los Angeles. She received M.S. from the University of California, Los Angeles in 2001 and Ph.D. from University of California, Berkeley in 2007, both in Electrical Engineering. In 2008, she joined UCLA as an Assistant Professor, where she heads Cognitive Reconfigurable Embedded Systems lab. Her current research projects include novel radio architectures, signal processing, communications, machine learning and networking techniques for spectrum sharing, 5G millimeter-wave, massive MIMO and IoT systems. 

Prof. Cabric was a recipient of the Samueli Fellowship in 2008, the Okawa Foundation Research Grant in 2009, Hellman Fellowship in 2012, the National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award in 2012, and the Qualcomm Faculty Award in 2020 and 2021. She is serving as an Associate editor for several IEEE journals and on the IEEE Signal Processing for Communications and Networking Technical Committee. She was the General Chair of IEEE Vehicular Networking Conference (VNC) in 2019 and IEEE Dynamic Spectrum Access (DySPAN) in 2021, and a Distinguished Lecturer for IEEE Communications Society from 2018 to 2019. Prof. Cabric is an IEEE Fellow.

Elza Erkip

Elza Erkip an Institute Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at New York University Tandon School of Engineering. She received the B.S. degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA.  Her research interests are in information theory, communication theory, and wireless communications. 

Dr. Erkip is a member of the Science Academy of Turkey, a Fellow of the IEEE, and a Clarivate Highly Cited Researcher. She received the NSF CAREER award in 2001, the IEEE Communications Society WICE Outstanding Achievement Award in 2016, the IEEE Communications Society Communication Theory Technical Committee (CTTC) Technical Achievement Award in 2018, and the IEEE Communications Society Edwin Howard Armstrong Achievement Award in 2021. Her paper awards include the IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Paper Prize in 2004,  the IEEE Communications Society Award for Advances in Communication in 2013 and  the IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award in 2019. She was a member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Information Theory Society 2012-2020, where she was the President in 2018. She was a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Information Theory Society from 2013 to 2014.  

Sofie Pollin

Sofie Pollin is professor at KU Leuven focusing on wireless communication systems. Before that, she worked at imec and UC Berkeley. Her research centers around wireless networks that require networks that are ever more dense, heterogeneous, battery powered, and spectrum constrained. She built a 5G testbed for distributed Massive MIMO at KU Leuven, is involved in a spectrum sensing open data initiative, and is now leading the way towards 6G tests in multiple large EU projects.

Petar Popovski

Petar Popovski is a Professor at Aalborg University, where he heads the section on Connectivity and a Visiting Excellence Chair at the University of Bremen. He received his Dipl.-Ing and M. Sc. degrees in communication engineering from the University of Sts. Cyril and Methodius in Skopje and the Ph.D. degree from Aalborg University in 2005. He is a Fellow of the IEEE. He received an ERC Consolidator Grant (2015), the Danish Elite Researcher award (2016), IEEE Fred W. Ellersick prize (2016), IEEE Stephen O. Rice prize (2018), Technical Achievement Award from the IEEE Technical Committee on Smart Grid Communications (2019), the Danish Telecommunication Prize (2020) and Villum Investigator Grant (2021). He is a Member at Large at the Board of Governors in IEEE Communication Society, Vice-Chair of the IEEE Communication Theory Technical Committee and IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON GREEN COMMUNICATIONS AND NETWORKING. He is currently an Area Editor of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS and, from 2022, an Editor-in-Chief of IEEEE JOURNAL ON SELECTED AREAS IN COMMUNICATIONS. Prof. Popovski was the General Chair for IEEE SmartGridComm 2018 and IEEE Communication Theory Workshop 2019. His research interests are in the area of wireless communication and communication theory. He authored the book “Wireless Connectivity: An Intuitive and Fundamental Guide”, published by Wiley in 2020.