Future Directions for Communications Engineers

The Sally Floyd Channel

Sponsored by the NeTS-VO

November 18, 2021

11:30AM – 1:00PM Pacific Time, 2:30PM – 4:00PM Eastern Time

Main Speakers: Ana García Armada, Shalinee Kishore, Angel Lozano, Ted Rappaport

Please use this link for registration: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSekmVCaMsyV2wnM0sCnvtE79lVk3cpesheHIIfdpZNJTorFaw/viewform?usp=sf_link

About the Speakers

Ana García Armada

Ana García Armada is currently a Professor at Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain. She is leading the Communications Research Group at this university. She has participated in more than 30 national and 10 international research projects as well as 20 contracts with the industry. Her research has resulted in 9 book chapters, and more than 150 publications in prestigious international journals and conferences, as well as 5 patents. She has also contributed to standardization organizations (ITU, ETSI) and is a member of the European 5G PPP Group of Experts, as well as the Spanish representative in the committee of the ESA Joint Board on Communication Satellite Programs 5G Advisory Committee (5JAC). She has been Editor (2016–2019, Exemplary Editor Award 2017 and 2018) and Area Editor (2019-2020, Exemplary Editor Award 2020) of IEEE Communication Letters. She is Editor of IEEE Transactions on Communications since 2019, Area Editor of IEEE Open Journal of the Communications Society since 2019, Editor of the ITU Journal on Future and Evolving Technologies and is a regular member of the technical program committees of the most relevant international conferences in his field. She has formed / is part of the organizing committee of the IEEE Globecom 2019 and 2021 (General Chair), IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference Spring 2018, 2019 and Fall 2018, IEEE 5G Summit 2017, among others. She is Secretary of the IEEE ComSoc Signal Processing and Computing for Communications Committee, has been Secretary and Chair of the IEEE ComSoc Women in Communications Engineering Standing Committee. Since January 2020 she is Director of Online Content of the IEEE Communications Society. She has received the Award of Excellence from the Social Council and the Award for Best Teaching Practices from Universidad Carlos II de Madrid, as well as the third place Bell Labs Prize 2014, the Outstanding Service Award 2019 from the SPCE committee of the IEEE Communications Society and the Outstanding Service Award 2020 from the Women in Communications Engineering (WICE) standing committee.

Shalinee Kishore

Shalinee Kishore is the Iacocca Chair Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Lehigh University in Bethlehem, PA. She also currently serves as Associate Chair for Lehigh’s Institute for Cyber Physical Infrastructure and Energy (I-CPIE). She obtained her Ph.D. and M.A. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Princeton University in 2003 and 2001, respectively, and the M.S. and B.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Rutgers University in 1999 and 1996, respectively. Prof. Kishore is the recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the National Science Foundation’s CAREER Award, and the AT&T Labs Fellowship. Her research interests span communication theory and networks, cybersecurity, and cyber physical energy systems.

Angel Lozano

Angel Lozano is a Professor of Information and Communication Technologies at Universitat Pompeu Fabra (UPF) in Barcelona, Spain, where he teaches and conducts research on wireless communications as head of the WiSeCom (Wireless & Secure Communications) Group.

Prof. Lozano received a Ph.D. degree from Stanford University in1998. In 1999, he joined Bell Labs (Lucent Technologies, now Nokia) in Holmdel, USA, where he was a member of the Wireless Communications Research Department until 2008. Between 2005 and 2008 he was also an Adjunct Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering at Columbia University.

Prof. Lozano is a Fellow of the IEEE since 2014. He is an editor for the IEEE ComSoc Technology News, an area editor for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and a former associate editor for the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory (2011-2014), the IEEE Transactions on Communications (1999-2009), and the Journal of Communications & Networks (2010-2012); he has guest-edited various journal special issues and is actively involved in committees and conference organization tasks for the IEEE. In particular, he was the Chair of the IEEE Communication Theory Technical Committee (2013-2014) and was elected to the Board of Governors of the IEEE Communications Society (2012-2014).

Prof. Lozano has published extensively, holds 15 patents, and is the coauthor of the textbook “Foundations of MIMO Communication,” released by Cambridge University Press in 2019. His papers have received several awards, including the 2009 Stephen O. Rice prize to the best paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Communications, the 2016 Fred W. Ellersick prize to the best paper published in the IEEE Communications Magazine, and the 2016 Communications Society & Information Theory Society joint paper award. He also received an ERC Advanced Grant in 2016 and was a 2017 Highly Cited Researcher.

Theodore S. Rappaport

Theodore S. Rappaport is the David Lee/Ernst Weber Professor at New York University (NYU) and holds faculty appointments in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, the
Courant Computer Science Department, and the NYU Langone School of Medicine.
He founded NYU WIRELESS, a multidisciplinary research center, and the wireless research centers at the University of Texas Austin (WNCG) and Virginia Tech (MPRG). His research has provided fundamental knowledge of wireless channels used to create the first Wi-Fi standard (IEEE 802.11), the first U.S. digital cellular TDMA and CDMA standards, the first public Wi-Fi hotspots, and more recently proved the viability of millimeter-wave and sub-THz frequencies for the cellular industry’s push to 5G, 6G, and beyond.
He has authored popular engineering textbooks and co-founded two wireless communications companies that were sold to publicly traded firms. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, and is a member of the Wireless History Foundation Hall of Fame.